Steeleye Span
Title Please to see the King
Lineup Mark II
Label B&C LP ©1/3/1971
Please to see the King
Side 1
1 The blacksmith
2 Cold, haily, windy night
3 Jigs: Bryan O’Lynn/The hag with the money
4 Prince Charlie Stuart
5 Boys of Bedlam
Side 2
1 False knight on the road
2 The lark in the morning
3 Female drummer
4 The King
5 Lovely on the water

After recording Hark! The Village Wait, Gay & Terry left. Replacements were sought and the band added then (then) unknown fiddle player Peter Knight, and the folk luminary Martin Carthy (whose former partner Dave Swarbrick had joined Fairport—Ashley’s previous band),

This is a much more electric/amplified and darker album than Hark! The Village Wait. Martin, famed as an acoustic guitar genius, instead plays electric guitar (very loudly)

Last updated: Sun, 9 Apr 16:45:56 2017 +1200